Just a quick word or three

Heh, well you know how I said I wouldn’t get another blog in until after my exams? I think I’ll at least fit this one in, and perhaps a few more because next week I have a whole week free of exams, and I don’t intend to spend the entire time studying.

Anyways, the reason for my adding this blog is twofold:

Firstly, and primarily, I went out yesterday to shoot some plants, because on my way home from my english exam, my friend and I passed a copse, and as it turns out, the arums are blooming! Ok, so if you don’t know what an arum is, it’s that lilly with the really stamen – commonly assosiated with funerals and the like. So I went to get some shots. I also found some beautiful moss, well lit, and shot a few of it as well, because I’ve never really dabbled in the moss idea. So here are a few results of yesterday’s shooting!

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 micro @ f/4 1/60s to isolate the stamen

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 micro @1/60s f/4 to isolate the stamen

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 micro @ f/6.3 1/60s for sufficient d.o.f.

D300 + R1 Macro Flash + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/60s f/6.3 for sufficient D.o.F.

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ f/4.2 1/60s to give sufficient d.o.f.

D300 + R1 Macro Flash + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/60s f/4.2 to give sufficient D.o.F.

Also! This blog received a huge amount of traffic over the past 24 hours, and I figured if I didn’t update, some people would just move on and never come back, and that is quite the opposite of what I intend to do. So anyways, for that purpose, welcome any and all newcomers. I hope you like my little blog that I have going here! I know it’s in its first few stages, but I will  develop it more and more over the next few months!

I leave you again with a final image from yesterday.

D300 + R1 macro flash unit + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/60s f/6.3 to give sufficient D.o.F

D300 + R1 Macro Flash + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/60s f/6.3 to give sufficient D.o.F

Until next time!

5 comments on “Just a quick word or three

  1. Andrew says:

    Wow, you actually have time to photograph AND make a webpage? You are lucky. I have been stuck with trying to get straight A’s, and doing virus experimentation, and Polymerase Chain Reactions using RAPD primers and our Thermocycler. . . Lucky you. . .

    • Mark says:

      yeah, some of us have our priorities straight 😛 Nah ducky, firstly, it didn’t take any effort to make, and i’ve streamlined my postprocess work to 1 minute per photo, and I shoot whenever I can… it’s a serious thing for me. I also have school though… Final exams and such. meh.

      • Andrew says:

        Well, school is over for me. Graduation is on the 18th. Party on the 23. You are invited to come, but it is just a little expensive to fly over here.

        I am going over to Northern Ireland in July. Gonna stay two weeks with someone there. Lets just say me and her are gonna have a lot of fun ^_^

      • Mark says:

        You lucky monkey. I have five more exams this week. yay. <_<

        heh, sounds like fun! Ireland is a beautiful country. I hope you take pictures 😉

      • Andrew says:

        Ehh, you will do fine.

        I hope I get to see a lot, besides just the city. . .

Leave a Reply

