A few leftovers

Well, I’m afraid the photography has been really slow over the past few days because of the exams, but upon looking back through the files I’ve posted, I realised that there are quite a number of photos that I haven’t yet posted on the blog that perhaps deserve some disclosure. This one is all the way from London again, but I love the expression on the little squirrel’s face. My feet were about four centimetres from the edge of the frame. Quite ridiculous.

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/1000s f/3

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/1000s f/3

Even with such a fast shutter speed and VR it was incredibly difficult to freeze the motion of this guy. I was snapping left and right to try and catch him in this pose.

The next two images are actually from a set that I had meant to put up and never mananged to. Shot outside in my garden, I was working on the technique of backlighting to add detail to the leaves by holding on of my R1 flashes and holding my not so light camera rig in the other. Needless to say I have a lot of awful pictures, but these two turned out really well, so I’m pleased.

D300 + R1 Flash Unit + 105mm f/2.8 @ 1/60s f/18

D300 + R1 Flash Unit + 105mm f/2.8 @ 1/60s f/18

D300 + R

D300 + R1 Flash Unit + 105mm f/2.8 @ 1/60s f/18

Something about the spots on these leaves really set them off for me. I was also working on isolating an object or objects from the background using fore and backlighting, and fortunately that worked really rather well.

The final two images are ones that I was going to put in the post a few days ago, but I decided I had enough there already. I like them though.

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/25s f/3.2

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/25s f/3.2

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/30s f/2.8

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/30s f/2.8

This latter one is tolerable I think, but I also considered doing it in black and white, like so:

D300

D300 + 105mm f/2.8 Micro @ 1/30s f/2.8

I’m not sure this is the way to go though. I don’t think the dynamic range of the centre of the photo lends itself to black and white… do tell me what you think!

Anyways, that’s enough from me. I hope you enjoy, and look forward to more posts by Wednesday this week!

Leave a Reply

